west coast's finest

2017 Awards

VIMA xii

2016 Vancouver Island Music Awards Nominees & Winners

Country Recording

Chris Andres & the Stompin Devilles Irish Sunglasses

Peter Brunette Meadowlark

Winner: Twin Kennedy It’s a Love Thing

Pop Recording

How Could I Killing Clocks

Winner: Heather Hutchison Reason to Stay

Bobbi Schram Window Day

Bobbi Schram The Last Phone Booth

Beverley McKeen Midnight Man

The Groovy Train The Groovy Train

Rock Recording

Lincoln Foster Band Not Going Down  

Lance Lapoint Tonight

Dave Cormier Follow you down

Winner : Spaceport Union White Noise

Electronic/Urban/Hip Hop Recording

Joseph Rose of Aileron Fall in Place

Joseph Rose of Aileron Holy Water

Winner: Illvis Freshly On the Breaks

Roots / Folk Recording

Joanna Finch  My First Love was my Bicycle

Geoff Johnson

The Clanns Lucky Bastard

Hardware Girls Windstrong Storm

Ali Romano  The Flood  

Sister Shelly Love Will Rise  

Andrea L’Heureux Cage of Bones

Producer of the Year

United Hipsters Union Love & Exile Cheryl Cohen

Winner: Joby Baker Magnolia by Cari Burdett

Corwin Fox Meadow Lark by Peter Brunette

Marc Atkinson The Flood by Ali Romano

Ray Meterick Dance up the Power by Hardware Girls

Music Video Year

Kim June Johnson  Oh June  

Twin Kennedy Feels like Freedom

Illvis Freshly

Cari Burdett La Vie En Rose

Mitra Dee On the Outside  

PK Tessmann Careful & Kind

Joseph Rose of Aileron Fall in Place  

Winner: Spaceport Union White Noise

Youth Artist of the Year

Marvin Thiele

Ian Perry

Winner: Ajay Parikh-Friese

Vocalist of the Year

Winner: Cari Burdett

Twin Kennedy

Edie Daponte

Song of the year

Joseph Rose  Holy Water

Winner: Twin Kennedy Second Hand Gold

Close the Bombay Doors Arabic

Spaceport Union White Noise

Peter Brunette Over and Over

Album of the Year

Winner: The New Groovement The Orange Album

Dave Cormier Little Pieces

Peter Brunette  Meadow Lark

Myc Sharrat Cellar Door

Kevin Mitchell Home in the Sky  

Nick Hornbuckle

Illvis Freshly What Chu Know

Cari Burdett  Magnolia

Heather Hutchison  Where the Ocean Meets the Sand

Jamie Dopp Dallas Road

Janis Harper Better this Way  

Victor Anthony Mystery loves Company

Artist of the Year

Lincoln Foster Band

Winner: Lance Lapoint

Dave Cormier

Cari Burdett

Nick Hornbuckle

Group / Duo of the Year

Saskia & Darrel The Great Plains

How Could I

She Could Be Trouble

Winner: Illvis Freshly

Thank you to our sponsors: Long & Mcquade

Pacific Audio Works

Hidden Dragon Entertainment

Strathcona Hotel

More Links

She Could be Trouble
Ursula Fox
Lance Lapoint
Lincoln Foster Band
David Cormier Band
Groovy Island Music
United Hipsters' Union
Geoff Johnson
Nick Hornbuckle
Illvis Freshly
The Clanns
Marvin Thiele
Peter Brunette
Hardware Girls
Beverly McKeen
PK Tessman
Andrea L'Heureux
Chris Andres
Victor Anthony
Ray Meterick
Sister Shelly and the Bad Apples
Myc Sharratt
Cari Burdette
How Could I 
The New Groovement
Bobbi Schram
The Great Plains
Joseph Rose
Alison Romanow
Close the Bombay Doors
Jamie Dopp
Edie Daponte
Twin Kennedy
Heather Hutchison
Mitra Dee
Janis Harper
Kim June Johnson
Joanna Finch
Kevin Mitchell
Abel James
Joelle Anthony
Spaceport Union
Cheryl Cohen

and others...